Skip to content

Creative Machine

6. April 2006

I’ve written two short stories I was going to enter in the RWNZ Autumn Short Stories competition. I think one of them is probably quite suitable for them. unfortunately, there just isn’t enough money to send it out. I can jsutify spending money on contests if it could in theory further my writing career by getting parts of my MSes in front of editors or agents, but I don’t intend to make a living off short stories (especially since I’m not a huge fan of theirs, either reading or writing), so there really isn’t much point. I would also only have a very limited interest in feedback. So I’m not entering it. Too bad, its’ sort of sweet.

Instead, i focused on typing up my latest MS today, which I had finished in longhand last week (or was it the week before that?). i’ve only typed up 8 MS pages so far, but hey, it’s still good. I’m using my voice recognition softare, and it’s still a bit of an uphill battle. Buuut what can you do?
I’m also editing Book 1, and that’s sweating blood at a stronger than usual rate. Whenever I really feel like giving up (again), I figure out some small thin or read one salvagable paragraph that makes me keep going. I love the story, and I lvoe the heroine. i’m not ready to give up on the book quite yet. I’ve canned the first two chapters (again, so that’s the first four chapters in the scrap pile), and I think I finally have something that might be able to beocme a strong opening. openings are hard. i spend probably as long on the first three chapters as I do on all the rest of the book combined, and on the first page almost the same time again. nothing is as important as a good first page.

And with that, I’m back to my not-first-page part of editing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

