Skip to content

How to get your stuff out there

26. June 2006

I’m having a bit of a career greed slump today. Talking to other writers can be a great procrastination tool, a humbling reminder of things to come or just an inspiration. And sometimes, it just shows me how long the road ahead is.
I was talking to one fellow writer via email today, and she has several fulls and partials with various editors. And the Envy Bug bit me square in the foot. *I* want to have more stuff out there!

So I did what any self-respecting aspiring writer does, I hit the contest circuit. I don’t like contests, mainly because I don’t get anywhere with them. With my money situation being the way it is, I can’t justify sending my paper babies especially to overseas contests. US$50 buys me one contest entry or a week of food. Hm. I know which one I’d rather choose.

On the other hand, this is my career I’m gambling on. Shouldn’t I give it every chance I can?

I don’t know, and the maintenance guy with his chainsaw just outside my window isn’t helping my thought process. Time to hit the library for a new reading fix.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mer permalink
    27. June 2006 7:10 pm

    Out of curiosity, why contests and not, say, agents?

    Love the podcasts!

Leave a Reply

