Skip to content

Gourmet vs gourmand

4. July 2006

A gourmet is a person with discriminating taste in food and wine, as is a gourmand.
Because gourmand can also mean “one who enjoys food
in great quantities” or even “a gluttonous eater,” care should be taken to make clear its intended sense.
An epicure is much the same as a gourmet, but the word may
sometimes carry overtones of excessive refinement. This use of epicure is a misrepresentation of Epicurean philosophy, which, while it professed that pleasure was the highest good, was hardly
given to excessive concern with food and drink.

To me, the word gourmand always has the undertones of glutton, yet it seems to be the more popular word lately to mean the same as gourmet. Why is that?

I’ve been doing a lot of research for my next book, tentatively titled ‘Sizzling’. It’s cooking up nicely. I’m doing prep work until the next RWA BIAW (who loves acronyms?) in two weeks’ time when I’ll be doing the bulk of my first draft. Maybe this time, I’ll even be able to do all of it? You never know…

I’ve been trying to find the perfect picture for my hero, but he’s proving elusive. I had no trouble finding Maya, the heroine. Hm. more reearch perving at handsome men is in order. Oh, the hardship of a writing life.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

