Skip to content

Conference roundup – Awards dinner

21. August 2006


Saturday night was the highlight of the non-learning aspect of the conference: the annual awards dinner.
I hadn’t intended on going to begin with. It’s expensive, and I wasn’t quite sure I’d enjoy myself. I don’t scrub up too well, and I don’t appreciate speeches usually.

But I changed my mind, and I’m glad I did. Everything was fantastic, from the gorgeous table decorations to the company.

Even the food was good, always a bonus.

It was a beautiful short and sweet ceremony. We celebrated fellow members’ successes (yay Rachel!), and it was an atmosphere of much merriment.
The R*BY, the RWA’s prestigious award for published authors, was undoubtedly the most anticipated event of the night.

But we didn’t just celebrate those that won awards on the night. The best moment of the evening, for me, was standing up with fellow accomplished writers, and it really drove home the point that no matter where you are in your writing career, it’s celebrating every step along the way that will keep you going that extra mile.

And speaking of the extra mile, it’s time to write the first draft of one of my short story entries for this year’s Little Gems competition. I just got two author copies of the Emerald anthology in the mail, and I’m incredibly proud of it.
Guess what’s going to be part of the contest? ^_^

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

