Skip to content

Some rejections sting more than others.

13. December 2006


I didn’t do well with my two entries into the RWA Emerald’s category section. That didn’t bother me so much. Maybe I’m not emotionally invested in their success or failure (hey, could that be the problem??). Maybe I just believe that I’ll figure out how to make them awesome at some stage. maybe I really knew they weren’t that polished yet (they’re in second draft and slow going).
But today I got the results for the single title section back. I didn’t come in last, but I almost did.
Ouch.
Maybe it’s because I believe in this story. Maybe it’s because I genuinely can’t make the opening any better at this stage. Maybe I’m blinded by love for the character. But for wahtever reason, this low rating really, really sucked.
I was so convinced this one would do well. That this book would be the one that would finally get me out of the bottom three of contest-dom.
Nope. not even close. Just another one to scrape the bottom of the barrel.
Sheesh, I suck.

Fortunately for me, I don’t have time to mope. I have to tackle the mystery aspect (gah! I can’t solve riddles, much less make one!).
Once it’s done, I’m going to call in every favour I can to get as many people as possible to read this baby. And then it’s going to find an agent. no matter how long it takes. It’s a great book. Screw the judges.

Well, I’ll hold off my real rant until the score sheets and comments come back. I’m hoping at least the category ones will be useful.

Blah. I changed my mind. I think I *will* mope.

In other news, I’m going to be a Golden Heart Judge! Muhahahahaha. Now the rubber band is on the other claw!
I’ll try my hardest to be the kind of judge I wish I had gotten in any of my contests. Hopefully, I can be.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

