Skip to content

But YOU live over there, and I live over HERE.

14. March 2007


Agents. They’re a funny lot, aren’t they?
Yesterday I received my first paper rejection (I’ve queried only electronically, and this agent had requested a partial in hard copy). This is what it said, hand-written on the back of my original query:

Dear Kiki,
this actually is a lot of fun, but the market is so tough right now, and in the end I worry that a writer not living in the US might have an even tougher time. Can you get the book published in Australia? If so, then – if it does well – it might have a better shot here. best, ~

It’s actually a very sweet rejection in a lot of ways. he took the time to not use a form letter, for which I’m grateful. he explained what made him unhappy about my submission. he ended on an up note.

But still, c’moooon. It’s Australia, not the jungles of Peru! We have broadband internet, satellite TV, phone lines… Is he worried that getting in touch with me is hard? Or is it my grammar and crazy spelling? Vocabulary?

No, what it all comes down to is that the book wasn’t exciting enough for him to take the project on regardless of the perceived or real problems. This is agent number three who gives the ‘No non-US clients for me’ rejection. It’s sad, but it’s okay. Someone will love me and my books enough to take me on. if no agent will, I’ll just knock on every publisher’s door.

Plus, there’s a second book in the works now, so pretty soon, I’ll have that to send.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. GeminiWisdom permalink
    16. March 2007 5:38 am

    Have you sent out any query letters by mail? I started out electronically first, then went back and worked on the snail mail ones.

  2. Kiki permalink
    16. March 2007 6:09 am

    Not yet. Quite frankly, I can’t afford the postage at the moment. but I do have a shortlist of agents I’ll snail mail query, hopefully at the end of the month. >_<

Leave a Reply

