Skip to content

Babies, both literary and real

23. May 2007

I’ve never felt like my manuscripts were my “babies”. No angsting at the post office counter as they weigh up the thick envelope (well, apart from a fleeting ‘there goes my lunch money’ fear, but that’s okay).
So I was very happy to send out my requested partial to the warmer climates of Canada (yeah, how often do you hear ‘warmer’ and ‘Canada’ mentioned in junction?). I hope this editor likes my changes. ^_^

On other babies, I have a lot of opinions, but I can’t beat this summary. It’s perfect.

In other news, yesterday evening, we had a grading at my kung fu school, which is always an exciting event. but it was made even more exciting since we had a black belt grading!
Black belts are a huge rarity at our school. Since its inception 33 years ago, we’ve only had 21 black belts. Isn’t that amazing? So it really is something special.
The quality of the grading was very varied overall, with some people performing better, and a lot of them doing worse than expected. For the people grading, it’s an indication where they need more work, and how it all comes together. For the higher grades who weren’t grading, it’s an indication where things need to be improved. I predict a change in focus over the next few months…

Yesterday I was going to outline my new YA, and instead I wrote the opening pages. Which I suppose could technically count as characterization, I suppose… That’s the problem with writing two projects at once. On the upside, it might mean the partial could be ready to enter the Stiletto contest next month. I hear they’re still looking for more YA entries. So what are you waiting for? Get your entries in there, too!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Stephen Parrish permalink
    23. May 2007 10:52 am

    Hi Kiki:

    It’s been a while since I commented, but I read all of your posts. I’m commenting now mostly to tell you once again how much I enjoy your blog.

    But I may as well take this opportunity to also say that my daughter is the best thing that ever happened to me.

    You grew up in Germany, right? I grew up in the U.S. and presently live in Germany. My daughter attends Gymnasium.

    Tschüs,

    Steve

Leave a Reply

