Skip to content

Pineapple-sweet potato "burgers"

11. December 2007

This recipe was from The Accidental Vegetarian by Simon Rimmer, but I had to modify it slightly.
The result was pretty much nothing like what the picture looked like in the book. For starters, it wasn’t a burger. Not even one with pineapple as the “bread”/ What it was was a tasty sweet potato curry with lots of greens and some grilled pineapple slices to revive my poor burning tastebuds.

Ingredients:
2 sweet potatoes
2 small red chilies
4-5 garlic cloves, crushed
1/2 pineapple (or a can, if you must)
1/2 Tbs chili powder (or more, depending)
1/4 cup coconut milk
3/4 cup soy milk (having a whole cup of coconut milk would be better)
1 cup water
1 tsp coconut essence
green vegies (I used broccolini and spinach, but you could use pretty much anything. the recipe called for okra)

I started off by peeling and cubing two large sweet potatoes and tossing them in my trusty all-purpose oven dish, seasoning them with Portuguese chicken spices (no chicken in those spices, duh), a few crushed garlic cloves and two deseeded chopped tiny red chilies.
These were cooking while I prepared and cooked the rest of the food, probably about 45 minutes. I wasn’t being very time efficient.

Next, I cored and peeled the pineapple (this is much easier when you have quarters) and cut it into medium slices (about the same thickness as those slices in a can).
I dry-grilled them on my stovetop griddle, but if you’re not watching your fat intake, I reckon some oil might give you prettier griddle marks.

While the pineapples were grilling on medium heat, I washed and chopped the greens, setting them aside.

After turning the pineapples (don’t let them burn), I started on my sauce. I dry-roasted some curry powder (mine is insanely spicy, but use however much you want), then added the milk (both coconut milk and soy milk), stirring until the mixture bubbled up. Then I added some coconut essence (I never know when to add it. The final result wasn’t coconutty enough, but that’s the non-coconut milk’s fault).
Once that got going, I added the greens and turned down the heat, letting the greens melt into the sauce.

By now the pineapples were done so I turned off the griddle and popped them in an oven-proof dish to keep them warm. I also turned off the heat on my sweet potatoes, which were nice and soft with some brown edges.
When the greens had wilted nicely, I added the sweet potatoes and some corn starch to thicken the sauce.

Since this wasn’t going to get burgerised this time around, we served the curry in bowls with pineapple decorations around it.
The griddle marks were very pretty, and the grilling had made the fruit soft and sweet. I have a thing about the weird sourness in pineapple, so I was glad about the way things had turned out.

I probably won’t make this again necessarily, simply because it was just another potato curry dish, nothing that stood out per se.
I like potato curries though, so maybe a different reincarnation of this dish will grace our dinner table in the future.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. EvilWombatQueen permalink
    2. April 2008 4:32 am

    Just wondering what brand of coconut essence you use. The one at my local supermarket has glycerine in it and it doesn’t indicate if it’s animal or vegetable derived. I’m also in Melbourne so hopefully I’ll be able to get a hold of the same brand!

  2. EvilWombatQueen permalink
    2. April 2008 5:35 am

    Me again. I emailed Queen Fine Foods (the brand of artificial coconut essence my local Coles stocks) after commenting on your blog. They’ve just emailed me back saying the glycerin they source is certified animal free. Crisis averted!

Leave a Reply

