Skip to content

stock

17. December 2007

Commercial stock is always a biot of a disappointment. it’s too salty and doesn’t really taste of anything.

So occasionally (not nearly often enough), I get inspired to make my own stock. it’s a great way to use up those odds and ends you are left with from prepping veg, as well as anything that’s a bit past its prime.

I finally got a new stock pot in October and have been hanging to try it out.
I don’t even remember what went in it. I know I had heaps of those dry, woody asparagus ends in the freezer, as well as some carrot tops, some very wilty yellow bok choi and a mystery bag of scraps.
I tossed in a roughly chopped onion and a few crushed garlic cloves for good measure and let the whole thing boil with just enough water to cover the sludge.

Well, I ended up with about three litres of cloudy stock, and after a quick twist of salt and pepper, it’s a welcome addition to pretty much anything. And it actually tastes like vegetables, too!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

