Skip to content

Snacky chick peas

22. December 2007


I had a bit of chana dhal chickpeas left over from the marrow disaster, so I thought I’d try roasting them.
I’ve seen roast chickpea recipes around, and they looked very tempting.

I soaked my chickies overnight so they were nice and plump, then just tossed them on the oven tray with some random seasoning and roasted them for, uh, about an hour on fairly low heat (so they wouldn’t burn). I left them in the turned-off oven to cool down, and the result was quite delicious.

Roasted chickpeas can be considered a low-fat alternative to things like snack nuts. SOme of them were crunchy and starchy, while some were still a bit hard. So don’t go grabbing big handfuls, you might chip your teeth!

Next time, I’ll try it with whole chickpeas to see how that goes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

