Skip to content

Vege2Go, Carlton

13. February 2008

Vege2Go has been popping up all over the place for me and their marketing hype worked on me. I was actually quite excited about their opening (it helps that they’re practically around the corner from me).

I wanted to like this place, I really did. not only were they promising a fully vegetarian lunch/cafe experience, they would also understand what it means to be Vegan. They even mark their vegan dishes clearly!

So on their opening day, the boy and I went to grab some lunch.

The shop is bright and cheery, and their menu, while small, is well thought-out. I was just as pleased to see an interesting choice of milks for their smoothies and coffees (apart from the usual full-fat and skim dairy milk and ubiquitous soy milk, they offer a lactose-free cow’s milk,oat and rice milks). And they had the most scrumptious-looking desserts right there as you walk in.

Unfortunately, it seems they didn’t quite know how to work the bain-marie yet, as the food on display didn’t look very exciting. Everything was so… orange and dry.
The side dishes looked better in their glass display.

We got lasagna, zucchini and salad (and an opening-special free slice of vegan chocolate-raspberry cake we were assured was extremely delicious).
I was still sceptical.

The food was good. Not great, but certainly very nice for take-away food. A single medium meal deal just about filled us (we’re not big eaters), and the large would probably do us for dinner.
The risotto was much nicer when we put it on white plates than it looked in the shop, and the taste was pleasant and surprisingly moist. The sides were fresh and excellent in texture and flavour.
The cake was very tasty, my only gripe was with the frosting, which was a little grainy.

Would I go there again? probably, if fo no other reason that I like to support vegetarian places whenever I can, and it’s convenient when I’m too lazy to cook.
I’d love to see them expand their menu a bit, especially on the vegan side.

So if you’re in Melbourne, go check it out. And let me know what you think of it!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindy permalink
    13. February 2008 4:46 am

    Thanks for sharing your opinion! I haven’t got there yet, and will probably have to wait until next week. Michael and I will have a veg-skeptic guest with us on the weekend so we are aiming for tried-and-true restaurants and home cooking to win them over. 😀

  2. 17. February 2008 12:50 am

    I pretty much thought the same as you about vege2go… good for what it is but not outstanding. There’s a more lengthy review on my site.

  3. kristy permalink
    25. February 2008 7:46 am

    I agree with what you said too.

    Hey found your blog through Cindy’s post.

    Great to see another Melbourne vegan blogger, there doesn’t appear to be many around.

    I’ll add your blog to my list of Aussie veg*n bloggers over at my blog.

Leave a Reply

