Skip to content

I’m back – and I bring teeth

10. March 2008

So the year hasn’t started very auspiciously for me. I was in a bad rut where work would only trickle in (with a lot of “what else have you got”s), and then there were a series of mystery sicknesses that finally manifested in a jaw infection.

You know, for a country that allegedly provides health care for its citizens, the fact that dental is not considered essential is laughable.
So many other illnesses can stem from dental-related health issues. GPs can deal with every area of your body except the mouth.
Makes sense? no, I didn’t think so either.

Tooth-related illnesses can manifest in everything from something akin to mental depression all the way to chronic pain in completely different parts of your body. And yeah, while my wisdom teeth were having a party finally righting themselves in my overcrowded jaw and wrecking havoc in the surrounds like a frat party, I was flitting from one problem to the next.

Now we finally have private health insurance, so in only two months’ time, I can go and get the teeth checked again without eating only rice and whatever the garden grows for lunch for a week. And in 6 months time, I can get something done about these biteys o’ mine.

The good thing is though that the inflammation has gone down, I can eat again, and my brain isn’t preoccupied with not fainting any more, so I can actually get some work done.
There’s a pile of pitches sitting on my desk that needs to go out.
Ah, pitching. The best part about writing. Well, apart from the first draft or two, of course. And the initial idea. But it’s definitely in the top 5.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. adolon permalink
    31. March 2008 2:57 pm

    I wonder if the reasoning for separation between dentistry and the rest of medicine is due to anything more than ‘Oh, we let the buggers grow separate from the rest of medicine and now we can’t control them…’

    Not everybody undervalues dental issues as a cause of greater worry, if even to just look at the concept of dental pain. Why, a medico rep told me about a month back that pain from the third molar can be about as close as they can get to developing a pain ‘standard’.

    Anyway, write me!
    -Chris

  2. Cassie permalink
    31. March 2008 8:05 pm

    I hope you’re on the mend. That’s so painful. All the best on your writing and other creative endeavors.

Leave a Reply

