Skip to content

Support network

25. September 2008

For the first three yeas of my writing career, I didn’t connect much with other people, instead preferring to work on my own, only surfacing occasionally when I needed something specific. I wasn’t good company for much of the time anyway.

This has definitely changed in the last year. In the last year, I’ve become more secure in my writing (as secure as you can get when you make up stuff for a living at any rate), and I’ve found myself wanting to connect to people.
Maybe I’ve gotten better at weeding out poisonous people in my life. Maybe I’m just in a better head space. And maybe I just needed my fellow writers around me more.

Between volunteering with RWA (I moved straight from conference committee to almost-committee and now a sub-committee), putting myself out there with two brand-new CPs (love you, Anne and Diane!) and actually replying to emails within a week (rather than finding them months later in the vegie crisper part of my inbox, green and slightly mouldy), I feel like I’m connecting to people, and allow them to connect with me in return.

Yes, it’s taking away from my writing time. But it’s helping me in other ways, from editing to industry news. I can still get the words out. But I’m also taking care of myself. And that is a very precious thing to do.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. dianecurran permalink
    25. September 2008 9:36 pm

    Writers need writers. That’s all there is to it. We’re the only ones who understand what it’s all about…how the characters can take over, how they can refuse to cooperate. How wonderful it is to see your work in print.

    I think everything happens just at the right time. You became more involved with RWA at the right time, i joined at the right time and now we’re going to power ahead.

    As for taking away from writing time, I reckon that having people around you supporting your goals, encouraging you will make you even more productive. And probably in less time.

    I better make sure i check my ‘vegie crisper’ over the weekend.

    Here’s to connecting…

  2. 26. September 2008 6:52 pm

    Hi Kiki,

    I found your new blog! And I agree with Diane, writers need other writers. I’d be lost without my fantastic cps and all the writer friends I’ve made over the last few years.

    Happy writing!

    Christina

  3. 27. September 2008 9:38 am

    Yay Christina, you found me! \(^_^)/

    And I’m glad to hear both of you are making time to connect with your fellow writers, too…

  4. 8. October 2008 5:53 pm

    Yep, I agree – writers do need writers coz other writers understand…. I’ve gone in steps with connecting with other writers. 9 years ago (sheesh that long?) I joined RWA, then Romaus, then d the volunteer team for Hearts Talk (and floated with that for years), joined the local face-to-face group, have a couple of groups online, attended a couple of conferences and done a few online… and they all helped me. Also last year did the RWAus’s first Bootcamp and have was absolutely stoked that this group continues to be going – and a huge boost to get me back into writing….. as well as my cps, and then the 50Ks in 30 days team. Now on both the HT team and the Web team. I’ve mad some great friends, am glad I joined RWA coz it is a great support network….. 🙂

  5. 9. October 2008 9:12 am

    Wow Eleni, you make my feeble efforts look like hiking mud!
    I can never stay with groups for a very long time, that’s why I like limited commitments like the conference.
    Even though how I ended up on HT and the web team, I’m not sure… ^_^;;

    But it’s definitely a great way to connect with people and feel like what we’re doing is maybe only half-insane.

  6. 9. October 2008 2:57 pm

    Well it didn’t start off as a long time commitment…. it snow balled. So now, like you I’m on HT and web teams. And yes I think when people ‘get’ you, you don’t feel quite as mad as the non-writers believe you are…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

