Skip to content

Rejections and going forward

1. October 2008

Rejections are an integral part of a writer’s life. Every step along the way, there will be rejections and setbacks, both personal and professional.

Coming last in contests, form rejections from editors and agents, personal rejections after partial or full manuscripts have been requested. Revisions, followed by “Yeah, no, still not good enough.”
Cancelled series, being dropped by your editor or house, book deals being nixed after the contract has been signed and the book written and edited.

It’s a tough business, no doubt about it. You need a thick skin. You need to take care of yourself. Yeah, it smarts to not be wanted. It’s painful to know that right now, your work wasn’t as good as someone else’s. Or just wasn’t what someone was looking for.

You never know when you’re going to succeed. but if you don’t try, all you know is that you definitely won’t.

And yet, no amount of platitude makes you feel better when you feel rejected. That’s what chocolate is for.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. dianecurran permalink
    1. October 2008 7:46 pm

    I auditioned for NIDA when I was 18. I didn’t get in, nor to the acting course at Nepean, and Wollongong Uni told me to take a year off before applying again. I realised that even though I enjoyed acting, I didn’t have the passion that the other auditionees had for it. I also didn’t want to be a business that continually dealed out rejections – a lot of it based on your type or physical appearance.

    So now I’m a writer. Baring my soul in a different way. Inviting scrutiny, judgement, rejection and hopefully acceptance. (And building a fanbase – mmm, writing is a lot like acting) But I’ve got a lot thicker skin now than I did at 18. Hopefully that, and my wonderful cp and online/real life writing buddies will help me ride the rollercoaster of writing life without wanting to jump off the ride.

    And yes, there’s always chocolate!

  2. 1. October 2008 8:59 pm

    Funny world, isn’t it? I left acting for very similar reasons.
    Yeah… But you can’t take the need to be with stories out of certain people.
    Can’t act them out in person, so we talk about them instead, acting them out on the page for each other.

    I like actors. They’re usually great storytellers.

  3. dianecurran permalink
    3. October 2008 2:47 pm

    sometimes I miss my old arts admin life, hanging out at opening night parties and cast parties and closing night parties. Staying up late enough to get the early morning edition of the paper and read the reviews (I thought that only happened in movies) But during that period of my life, I hardly ever wrote at all.

Leave a Reply

