Skip to content

Writing always comes first

7. October 2008
tags:

I’ve found myself in the lucky position of beut of the house all day today due to random commitments like vaccinations and a kung fu AGM.

Which means it’s writing time! Yay!

I *could* come home and deal with the 23 emails marked “deal with asap” in my inbox (crits, web site issues, RWA issues, contest judging, reviews).
Or I could write.

When given half a chance, writing *always* wins. Even if it’s pre-writing. Oh wait. Especially the pre-writing.
I’m taking my trusty Donald Maass workbook with me and something called the snowball method and my Jenny Crusie notes. Those are my basic tools for setting up a new novel. I get more and more efficient with every book I write. And that’s a very reassuring thing to do.

How do you plan/outline your novel? Or do you write one word at a time, then go back and see what kind of story you ended up writing?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 7. October 2008 9:05 pm

    Love the look of your blog. My plots are usually brief outlines and then I write by the seat of my pants, but I keep to the outline so things don’t get to far off track. I’ve written one novel so far and only been writing for a short time. Not sure yet if this is the way that works best for me, I need to experiment more. Can you tell me more about how you write your books? What is the Donald Maass workbook and the snowball method?
    Barb.

  2. dianecurran permalink
    7. October 2008 9:26 pm

    Last few novels I’ve started with a basic concept or situation and just pantsed it from there. I usually get about 2/3 to 3/4 through and then I write the last scene so I at least know where it’s heading and which direction to continue in. (better than driving around in circles)

    Next Nanowrimo I’m not really planning, but seeing Kirsty’s already nagging at me (I think she’s so pleased to get her own story), I’m writing lots of notes.

  3. 8. October 2008 10:27 am

    Hey barb,
    thanks for stopping by! Congratulations on having a finished book! That’s a huge achievement.
    It took me a while to cobble together what works best for me, and the process is very different for everybody. Donald Maass’ workbook is something I’ve been using for a few years now. I heard him speak at a conference a while back and something about him clicked with me.

    The Snowball or Snowflake method is extremely useful for getting an idea out there and to think more focused about what it is you’re actually writing. It can be very frustrating, but again, it works for me.

    I’m a very dry writer in a lot of ways. My characters don’t really run around in my head, although I do think about them a lot. I always tell people I don’t have a muse, at least not in the popular sense. I might do a post about my writing process at some stage, thanks for the inspiration!

  4. 10. October 2008 6:52 pm

    Kiki,

    thanks for the info. I’ll be doing some reading and running down to the nearest bookshop.

    Cheers
    Barb

Trackbacks

  1. Books and Magazines Blog » Archive » Writing always comes first

Leave a Reply

