Skip to content

A good cry

13. October 2008
tags:

Sometime I worry I’m the only female in the writing world that doesn’t enjoy a good weepie.

People talk about movies like The notebook and how it made them cry through boxes and boxes of tissues, and I’m thinking Ugh, what a nightmare.
Then other people come out of teh woodworks talking about this and that story giving them a good sob or something to that effect.

Me, I’m taking notes to avoid those at all costs.
I don’t like sad stories, not even sad ones with happy endings, whatever that means. I don’t find having a good cry particularly cathartic, and it’s certainly not something I seek out in my entertainment, be it books or movies.

What about you?
Do you enjoy three-boxes-of-tissues movies? Or do they make you uncomfortable?
What’s the last movie that made you cry? Did you like it?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 14. October 2008 6:54 am

    Kiki I love a good cry, I watched The Notebook on the weekend and cried a lot. I guess there are just some days I like to sit down and have a good sniffle. I needed to get the emotions up so that I could write a certain scene and this really did get the emotions up and running. But I don’t know if the stuff translated well on paper.

  2. Monique Wood permalink
    14. October 2008 9:30 am

    Kiki, I thought I may have been the only woman on the planet who hasn’t seen or read “The Notebook”!

    It’s not that I don’t want to. I’m interested in it, but also I don’t like things to be TOO soppy. I don’t mind a cry over a great plot, but I’m not sure if I want to cry bucketloads. I much prefer romantic comedy.

    I’ll watch/read it one day and tell you what I think 🙂

  3. 14. October 2008 8:54 pm

    Boy, I’m a sap coz the last thing i cried in was an episode of Farscape when a character died…. I hadn’t seen that episode before… knew it was coming but still cried.
    So I don’t purposely avoid movies that will make me cry…. The Notebook being one…
    and yes i liked that film.

  4. dianecurran permalink
    14. October 2008 9:47 pm

    you think you’re a sap? I can cry by reading the newspaper or watching the news. Of course, it depends on what sort of emotional state I’m in at the time.

    Haven’t seen The Notebook. Don’t even really know what it’s about. So obviously no plans to watch it soon.

    I’ve sobbed through a lot of movies. But I think its better to get that sobbing out of the way in the privacy of your own lounge room (or the cinema if you must) then lose the plot at work because you’ve been suppressing all that emotion for too long and then you can’t stop crying because a customer yelled at you, or just told you that someone had died. Yes, I’ve been there. And there’s nothing worse than that red patchy tear-stained look.

    So I say bring on the cathartic tear-jerker movies. Just not all the time.

  5. 15. October 2008 6:43 am

    See, that’s why I don’t watch the news or read newspapers (much to my father’s chagrin). Too depressing. Although they’ve never made me cry, only angry.

    Just out of interest, do you come from a crying family? Maybe it’s in the upbringing…
    One of my dad’s mantras was “Don’t cry”, and I don’t remember my mum ever crying either.

  6. dianecurran permalink
    15. October 2008 6:47 pm

    No, my mother was always a put on a happy face person. She sometimes cried but usually she’d try and hide how she really felt.

    I think it’s just me – the crybaby. But I also had a lot of grief early on in life, so there was always a big sense of loss and abandonment. Don’t get me started on getting lost at 4 years old in the War Memorial!

  7. 15. October 2008 10:11 pm

    I’m the same Diane – i get sad at the news, or angry like Kiki. For the longest time I avoided the news – now if it’s on, it’s on.

    And yes, I wold rather cry while watching a movie than break down at work or elsewhere…
    sometimes I think we all need a good cry

Leave a Reply

