Skip to content

It’s real.

16. October 2008

My editor just sent me my galley for Enter The Parrot.

It’s real! All laid out and looking like an actual book…
This is the moment where I feel like a total fraud.
That’s not me! It can’t be my book. It must be something I made up. Something I did to motivate myself, right? Something like the fake covers I’ve made (and used as desktop backgrounds) to feel better about my word slavery.

But no, this is real, this is my book! It has an ISBN, and a copyright in my name and everything.

I was all set to do some work today, but instead, I’m going to treat myself to a day off.

I have galleys. I can do what I want now.*
 * Okay, so I can’t really, but I can be excited. Just for today.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 16. October 2008 12:18 pm

    Just go with the flow of it. Remember that no one is a fraud for writing something that they love. And besides who’s going to tell the public? Not us, we’re in on this with you all the way. lol

  2. 16. October 2008 3:19 pm

    Yay for you Kiki – galley, cover, ISBN – yep it’s YOUR book. You worked hard for it, so you’re not a fraud. So yep, you can be excited – we will let you for this day * g *

  3. Rhian permalink
    16. October 2008 6:13 pm

    No way just for today! You can be excited forever because no one can take it away. It’s there. It’ll always be there.
    Yay Kiki!!!
    Breaking out the cyber bubbly and happy dancing around the room. (ignoring the children looking at me like I’ve lost my mind)
    RC

  4. dianecurran permalink
    16. October 2008 8:40 pm

    Woohoo! A real book! Of course you can be excited today and the next day and the next day. And anytime you’re feeling down you can grab hold of the book and know you’ve done it. And can do it again.

    When’s the release date?

  5. opdi mopdi permalink
    17. October 2008 6:05 am

    hey cool, unbelievable…your own real book. I`m very curious to read it. it 🙂

  6. 17. October 2008 9:13 am

    Thanks for the nice comments, everyone. You’re the best!

  7. 17. October 2008 10:16 am

    True everyone – Kiki you’ve got a right to be excited every day…. remember that excitement when you go to work on the galleys 🙂

  8. dianecurran permalink
    18. October 2008 6:26 pm

    Hey Kiki,

    something I thought of. When John Birmingham is working on his galleys, he reads through from start to finish once. Then reads paragraph by paragraph from the back to the front, so he can concentrate on the words, and not the story. Might be a useful technique!

Leave a Reply

