Skip to content

And the big news is…

16. January 2009

Remember The Book That Refused To Die?
It’s been renamed.
To The Book That Got Me An Agent!

That’s right, ladies and gents, I have signed with none other than the incredible Maya Rock at Writer’s House
I guess it’s true what they say, it’s always darkest before dawn. Just when things were looking especially bleak, things take a turn for the better.

My agent-hunting life has been made a lot easier by QueryTracker.com, where you can not only research agents by genre and clients but also get feedback from people who are querying themselves. it was a great help and invaluable tool.
So of course I was excited when they interviewed me as a ‘success story’! To be found here

 

Was it easy to get to this point?  Hahaha. Uh, no. It took perseverance above anything else. I’m always slightly puzzled when people look for an agent but only query three. Really, that’s all? Either they are way more talented and lucky than I am, or they know some magic research secret that I don’t.

Some stats (again, thanks to QT):

For ENTER THE PARROT, I queried 44 agents and got 11 requests for partials and 4 requests for fulls. I had two requests for reqrites, but ultimately, no offer. I would have continued querying, but I sold the book by myself and felt that I should put my agent-hunting on hold until the next book.

For this book, TC to me and my crit partners, I queried 42 agents and had requests for 8 partials and 6 fulls. I had two offers of representation and accepted one.

How did I choose the agents I wanted to query? I wanted people who represent my genre, obviously, so I only queried agents interested in YA. If they also rep multicultural, chick lit and/or romance, they moved up my list. If I had a choice of two or more at a given agency, I preferred to query the more junior agent (junior agents usually have less workload and more hunger to prove themselves).

I queried in batches of about 10, and this time around, I gave priority to those who had requested fulls of PARROT or given me useful feedback along the way.

With my agent, everything happened very quickly. I had queried her on the 8th, she requested the full on the 9th and offered to sign me on the 11th. This played a huge part in my choice to go with her. Talk about enthusiasm!

Querying can be a painfully slow and frustrating process. it’s not easy being told you or your writing aren’t quite good enough, your choice of subject is questionable and your heroine is just plain unlikeable.
But hang in there.
Perseverance pays off. It just takes time. Sometimes a lot of time.
But remember, the longer you’re in the game, the better your odds of winning. Well, kind of.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. 16. January 2009 1:07 pm

    Yay! Congrats to you : )

  2. 16. January 2009 3:33 pm

    Congrats Kiki. Way to go!!!

  3. dianecurran permalink
    16. January 2009 7:05 pm

    Woohoo Kiki! Now we can party!

    You are my inspiration now, girl!

  4. dianecurran permalink
    16. January 2009 7:07 pm

    And now you can put more time into writing and editing and let your agent to a lot of the hard slog for you!

    Here’s to a big sale soon!

  5. 16. January 2009 7:36 pm

    WOOHOO Kiki congratulations.

  6. 16. January 2009 8:09 pm

    Yay! Congrats! Very exciting news. I’m glad your persistence paid off 🙂

  7. 16. January 2009 10:42 pm

    My fingers are crossed for a sale soon, Kiki! Congrats! So I guess we’re agency sistahs, now, eh?

  8. 17. January 2009 4:50 am

    Congrats on signing with Maya!

  9. 17. January 2009 8:22 pm

    Thanks, everyone! You guys are the sweetest. ^_^

  10. Nadine permalink
    19. January 2009 10:18 am

    Congratulations! That’s a very big landmark on your writing path – for me it was THE biggest – bigger even than selling the first book. Enjoy the moment!

  11. 19. January 2009 2:58 pm

    Kiki, how absolutely fantastic!!! Congrats!!!

Leave a Reply

