Skip to content

Writing spaces

18. January 2009

work computer

Last week, I finally started to clean out my office (again) and decided while I was at it, I’d move my computer to my big, fat writing desk (that I never use for writing anyway).

I love my new setup. I’ve got so much more room around my keyboard now than I used to and it feels so much more writerly to be able to look at my shelf of writing-related books (and motivational romances) than having my back to them.

There’s still a lot of stuff *under* my desk, but since I sit cross-legged usually, it doesn’t matter much that I haven’t gotten around to cleaning there yet.

What does your desk look like? How often do you clean your office or work space? Are you a neat freak, or does stuff tend to get spread everywhere?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 19. January 2009 3:04 pm

    Well that definitely looks much neater than my office. Looking around right now – just eeek!!! I have fits and starts of trying to get it under control but well… it just doesn’t work out.

  2. 19. January 2009 6:49 pm

    One word – scary!

    I’ll get around to decluttering soon.

  3. 26. January 2009 10:26 pm

    God, I wish my work area looked like that. As you know my “office” is a coffee table.

    Once I get the new Mac I’ll set up the back room as a writiing space. It’ll be good to be able to work in a room that has no TV to distract me.

  4. 27. January 2009 12:05 pm

    Actually, I don’t do a lot of my work on this computer nowadays. my main writing setup is my EeePC on the kitchen table, right under the air con. ^_^

    I agree though. Writing without distractions is so important. Good luck setting up your room!

Leave a Reply

