Skip to content

Volunteering

2. March 2009

Most of us benefit from volunteers in one way or another.

Writers especially depend on volunteers, from big organisations like RWA to writers’ centres to those readers that won’t stop talking about your books.

But how many of us give back? Oh sure, a lot of people give money to charities, or send thank-you cards. Is that enough for you?
Is there something you could do? Something specific to make a difference?

I’m a volunteer for the two biggest things in my life, writing and martial arts. At first I got interested in giving back as a way to ease my guilt. These people had done so much for me, I wanted to give back.

In the process, I got back a lot more than I ever expected. If you really want to understand an organisation, volunteeer with it. You meet the best people, get a rare behind-the-scenes look at how things come together, and you gain a whole new appreciation of other people’s time.

I won’t lie to you. It’s challenging. Volunteering can quickly become very time intensive, and if you let it, it will sap your energy, leaving nothing.

I’ve met all of my best and closest friends through volunteering, and that alone is worth everything.

Do you volunteer? How do you feel about the experience? Would you do it again?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 3. March 2009 2:13 pm

    I too volunteer for what I love – writing. It’s a way of helping to give back, and to just help. I agree about it being time intensive at times and the energy needed. But it’s all a matter of balance and keeping up the enthusiasm. 🙂

  2. 20. March 2009 7:25 am

    Volunteering is a great thing to do! I recently began volunteering for an organization based out of Chicago – http://www.DreamsforKids.org – and it has been great! I reccomend that everyone try doing charity work atleast one time in their life. You will never regret it. Have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

