Skip to content

Monday Meme: Addiction

6. April 2009

Five things I am addicted to:

  1. reading
    I get very desperate when I’m away from books for too long. I’ve been known to re-read other people’s cereal boxes out of pure need to read.
    Sign of true addiction: I once started to read the phone book. I read A-G in our dictionary when I was 8. I stopped when I realised I couldn’t remember every single word and its definition.
  2. games
    Boardgames, video games, charades, you name it, I love them. I’m not a very competitive gamer, but I just love the pure joy of playing someting with like-minded people.
    Sign of true addiction: I listen to gaming podcasts, I play boardgames online against bots when nothing else is available. 
  3.  food
    I’m not a glutton (most days), but I love everything about food. Buying it, preparing, cooking, eating, talking about food… I’m a sucker for new and exciting ingredients and I collect cookbooks like nobody’s business.
    Sign of true addiction: I had a foodie blog for a while. I watch vodcasts on cooking. I once sold five DVDs to buy a used cookbook. 
  4. walking
    I get reeeeaaaaally cranky if I’m not walked every day. Fortunately, Melbourne is a fantastic city for walking around and getting lost.
     Sign of true addiction: I walked from Glen Waverley to Brunswick one night. A 7-hour walk that ended up giving me a stress fracture in my foot. i would have been fine for that walk, except I’d gone for a walk the day before, from Essendon to brunswick, an easy 5 1/2 hour walk.
  5. social networking
    Facebook, blogging, podcasts, personal websites, web rings, group blogs, MySpace, GaiaOnline, MMORPGs. i love the idea of connecting virtually with people all over the world. Which is funny, because I suck at social anything in my analog life.
    Sign of true addiction: in my first year at uni, I spent more hours in the computer lab than going to classes and doing homework combined. And that was before the internet was big, way back in the mid-90s. 

What are you addicted to?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. dianecurran permalink
    6. April 2009 9:07 pm

    chocolate, Coke, the internet, Dexter, staying up way too late, buying books and not getting around to reading them – all bad bad stuff.

    one of these Mondays I’ll have a chance to do a Monday meme.

  2. 16. April 2009 12:28 am

    My addiction is best summed up with the following.

    see more Lolcats and funny pictures

Leave a Reply

