Skip to content

Monday Meme: The grown-up Meme

13. April 2009

Tired of all of those surveys made up by high school kids?! ‘Have you ever kissed someone? Missed someone? Told someone you loved them? Drank alcohol?’ 

Questions for people who are a little more mature… (Yeah, mature. That’s me!)

What bill do you hate paying the most? Electricity. I wish I had my own place so I could have solar panels.

Where was the last place you had a romantic dinner? I’m not a romantic, so I wouldn’t know. The last place i had a *nice* dinner… Wait, I don’t remember that either. The last place we ate out that was lovely was for breakfast at this great new place down the road from us on the way to geocaching.

What do you really want to be doing right now? Read on the couch with my cat flopped next to me.

How many colleges did you attend? Three, and one online.

Why did you choose the shirt that you have on right now? It’s my favourite colour (raspberry) and made from awesome soft stretchy material.

What are your thoughts on gas prices? I don’t drive! *does happy dance*

First thought when the alarm went off this morning? Where’s the cat?

Last thought before going to sleep last night? Don’t forget to pack the apron.

Do you miss being a child? No. At least now, people take me more seriously when I tell them stuff.

What errand/chore do you despise? Vacuuming. And putting away all those small things that don’t have a place and just multiply on the floor over time, making vacuuming a two-part annoying chore.

Get up early or sleep in? I love mornings. Definitely early for me.

Have you found real love yet? Yes. her name is Ryoko and she has the best purr in the world. (I’ve also found the perfect human who understands he’ll always come second to the cat.)

Favorite lunch meat? I don’t eat meat, but even when I did, I found lunch meat highly suspect. So I’m changing this to:
Favorite sandwich filling? crispy panko-fried tofu, avocado, salad, gado-gado sauce

What do you get every time you go into Wal-Mart a chain store (KMart, bigW, WalMart, target, etc)? I don’t go there often enough to have a thing I’d get. It’s usually my very last stop of depseration. “Surely *they* have it…” They never do, either.

Beach or lake? Lake. Less stupid people. in winter, the beach though. Can’t beat sea storms for clearing your mind.

Do you think marriage is an outdated ritual? Kind of. I’m less and less against marriage as I grow up.

Sopranos or Desperate Housewives? Neither.

What famous person would you like to have dinner with? Meg Cabot!

Have you ever crashed your vehicle? Only very slightly. At 5 km/h on an icy road, I slip-slided into a parked car. no real damage.

Ever had to use a fire extinguisher for its intended purpose? No. Fire, extinguisher, me. Only two of us are in the same place at any given time.

Ring tone? The Mario Galaxy remix of the Super Mario theme. Alternatged with the chocobo theme from FF7.

Strangest place you have ever brushed your teeth? With a water bottle on a beach in monsoon rain – Malaysia. I was wetter on the outside than my mouth was.

Somewhere in California you’ve never been and would like to go? Can’t think of any place, but I wouldn’t mind going to the places I *have* been to again.

Do you go to church? No. I’m not Christian.

How old are you? Old enough that I can be immature and people notice. Younger than most of my colleagues. At almost the correct age to fit in with kung fu seniority. Young enough to be joyous about life. Oh, and I’ll be one year older tomorrow! ^_^

Do you have a “go to” person? No. Well, maybe my mum. i wish she lived closer.

Are you where you want to be in life? Yes. I love the path I’m on and am grateful for my opportunities.

Growing up, what was your favorite cartoon? When I was very young, I didn’t watch TV, so once I got into it, I loved the Simpsons (i watched the premiere!), Saber Rider, Sailor Moon and superhero cartoons

What about you do you think has changed the most? I’m less angry than I used to be, and more accepting of the inherent suffering in life. I’m more relaxed and appreciate the moment more. Also, I can cook now.

Looking back at high school…were they the best years of your life? Hahahahahahahahahahahaha! Uh, no. I *hated* high school with every fibre of my being. one of the things I promised myself at graduation was that I’d never let go of the feeling of utter hatred and contempt I had for my high school existence.

Are there times you still feel like a kid? Yes! I’m easily excitable by adventure, road trips and surprises. I love treats. I play video games.

What was a “fad” you remember from your childhood? Coloured cocktail glasses that the It-girls collected. Band patches sewn to jean vests (to be worn over leather jackets). A specific kind of pen bag.

Did you have a pager? No, but I knew one person who did. He could never decypher any of the messages that came in (mostly from his gf)

Where was the “hang out” spot when you were a teenager? In the city, in front of an old department store where there was room to skate and rollerblade, smoke and beg people for cash. Or at the lake, in summer. And this cool indie club we went to on Thursday nights.

Were you the type of kid you would want your children/friends children to hang out with? Depends on who my children would be. I definitely wasn’t for everyone.

Who do you think impacted your life the most? My first kung fu teacher, Si-suk Bernhard. he taught me to respect myself. The guy known as baer. For all kinds of reasons.

Was there a teacher or authority figure that stood out for you? I loved my German teacher, Ms Fettweis, very much. Most people hated her.

Do you tell stories that start with “when I was your age”? No. Mainly because a lot of those years are a blur.

 

Okay, this was fun!

Your turn!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Diane Curran permalink
    13. April 2009 2:39 pm

    A blur, hey? What were you getting up to?

    It’s sad how our memories fade over time. Wish I’d been more disciplined with keeping journals now.

    Anyway, I’ve finally memed this week.

Leave a Reply

