Skip to content

Birthday of Wheeee!

15. April 2009

I had a wonderful birthday! It’s taken me a very long time, but I finally got the hang of how to make this a great event: Remove the people.

Seriously. It’s amazing what a day without *having* to talk to anyone will do for your mood.

Instead of being online all day “social networking” and dealing with people at their computers, I packed myself a lunch of three kinds of muffins (dark chocolate-roasted peanut, pineapple-carrot-ginger and linseed-cornbread, for those keeping track) and some fruit for lunch and set off.

I walked along my beloved Merri Creek for a while, totally mapping out potential geocaching spots (sshhhhhhh), then headed over to the more eastern part of town to do some fun shopping along Smith Street and Brunswick Street.
I didn’t end up buying anything, but it was fun nonetheless.

By the time I made it into the city, it was early afternoon.
I got my hair cut, then hunted around the city for the kind of wallet I’m after, which turned out more difficult than I expected (mainly due to the fact that all three of the shops I wanted to go to were closed!).

Then I headed over to the Botanical Gardens for some geocaching preliminary work (solving clues to the final location is part and parcel for a lot of caches) .
I was going to go down to St Kilda, but I was out of time.

So I met The Boy and we went to get my b’day present: A pillow from the Langahm Hotel!

Okay, those of you who’ve never stayed at the Langham will not understand this, but these are seriously awesome pillows. Seriously. Awesome. RWA conference people, you so know what I mean, right?

 After that, we went for dinner at this little vegetarian restaurant just off Lygon Street. If I hadn’t looked up the address, I would have never found this place. It’s hidden in an old Victorian building and very easy to miss.

The food was fantastic. We shared a tofu-oyster mushroom entree, then The Boy had yam croquettes and I had nonya-style tamarind curry. Both were super delicious! We even had dessert (mine came with a warning, whoo! Danger dessert).

Overall, a thoroughly enjoyable meal, and a great birthday.

Now, back to work.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 15. April 2009 3:35 pm

    Sounds like a lovely way to spend your special day (other than the shops being closed!) Many happy returns.

Leave a Reply

