Skip to content

Monday Meme: Writer’s Meme

11. May 2009

This one’s for all the writers out there in blogoland.

What’s the last thing you wrote? 

An extra scene in my current WIP, Odin’s Girl.

Was it any good? 

Bits of it were. we’ll see what I think of it when I get into editing mode though.

What’s the first thing you ever wrote that you still have? 

I’m not sure. I lost most of  my pre-Australia stuff when I moved here.

Write poetry? 

Not since I stopped wearing full Goth make-up.

Angsty poetry? 

Is there any other kind…

Favourite genre of writing?

Girl adventure romance

Most fun character you ever wrote? 

Tamlyn the cat girl, for a short story at uni

Most annoying character you ever wrote? 

Melissa, the heroine of my first ever novel.

Best plot you ever wrote? 

Odin’s Girl is my strongest plot so far, but I’ve got this idea for another book after this one…

Coolest plot twist you ever wrote? 

I lack horribly in the twist department.

How often do you get writer’s block?

Never. I get editing block all the time though.

How do you fix it?

Go for a walk.

Write fan fiction? 

No. I like the world building better than the playing in someone’s world.

Do you type or write by hand? 

Both, but I’m trying to teach myself to type more and hand-write less.

Do you save everything you write? 

Not at all. It’s easier to keep e-junk around though, so I have most of what I’ve typed floating around somewhere.

Do you ever go back to an old idea long after you abandoned it?

Not if I’ve set it free. I have a lot of ideas I file away for later and I do occasionally come back to them. Unless other ideas take up all of my time. Ideas are easy.

What’s your favourite thing that you’ve written? 

Enter The Parrot.

What’s everyone else’s favourite thing that you’ve written?

I don’t know. Everyone else? Wanna chime in here?

Do you even show people your work? 

*waves at wonderful CPs* All the time. Kind of.

Who’s your favourite constructive critic? 

My wonderful CPs Anne and Diane. Couldn’t do it without these girls.

Did you ever write a novel? 

It’s what I do.

Have you ever written fantasy, sci-fi, or horror? 

My next project is sci-fi. The Big novel in my head is steampunk.  think if I wrote horror, I’d die of sleepless nights.

Ever written romance or teen angsty drama? 

Those are my genres, baby!

What’s your favourite setting for your characters? 

high school

What’s one genre you have never written, and probably never will?

Horror. And Christian lit.

How many writing projects are you working on right now? 

Two-ish. Okay, maybe three. One book in deep editing. One in first draft being written. One in the outlining phase.

Do you want to write for a living? 

I want to rad for a living. But writing would do, too.

Have you ever written something for a magazine or newspaper? 

Yes, and yes.

Have you ever won an award for your writing? 

Nope. It’s not very high on my list of dreams either. It *is* on there though.

Ever written something in script or play format? 

Yes, for a performance class. i’ve always loved the idea of writing for the stage. I’m just not very good at it, unfortunately. I started writing a musical libretto. It was going to be a collaboration with my BFF, but like most things we started, it never went far.

What are your five favourite words? 

In English: Quixotic, because it uses a bunch of awesome letters; hoodlum, because it sounds so cute;  mnemonic, because it’s fun to say; shiny, because it’s cheery; and surprise, because hopefully, it means something good is about to happen.

My favourite words of all over are: buru-buru (Japanese), Leidenschaft(German), tsai leung (Cantonese), arriba (Spanish) and onomatopoea.

Do you ever write based on yourself? 

All the time. I’m highly schizophrenic on the inside. All these people are me, or mes I could have been, or mes I would have wanted to be.

What character that you’ve written most resembles yourself?

Brie, from Odin’s Girl is an exaggerated me in all aspects.

Where do you get ideas for your other characters? 

My friends and acquaintances. I know some awesomely strange people…

Do you ever write based on your dreams? 

No, but I sometiems come up with plots or characters while lying in bed not sleeping. The Boy thinks it’s hilarious that I can do work in bed.

Do you favour happy endings, sad endings, or cliff-hangers? 

Hate, hate, hate sad endings. I think all books with sad endings ought to have a warning sticker saying, “This book will leave you sad at the end!” I want happy endings. Not just satisfying. Happy. I’m okay with cliffhangers as book endings, but only if there are already more books in the series. I often forget about authors for a while, and if their book didn’t give me a happy feeling at the end, I might not know whether I wanted to read them again or not by the time their next book comes out.

But yaknow, you could have a happy ending with a cliffhanger…

Have you ever written based on an artwork you’ve seen? 

Yes. School is fond of making people do that. I’ve always disliked thhe idea until I got started. I love the idea of short stories inspired by paintings.

Are you concerned with spelling and grammar as you write?

Yes. English isn’t my first language and I have a habit of being creative with my vocabulary. I try to have strong writing meta-skills, because grammatical errors and typos are my pet peeves.

Ever write something entirely in chatspeak? (How r u?) 

Not entirely, but I’ve wanted to. unfortunately, it’s been done already. I do have chats in my books though.

Entirely in L337? 

Now that would drive me crazy.

Was that question completely appalling and un-writer like? 

Not at all. It’s no different than asking if someone has written modern free verse poetry.

Does music help you write? 

No. I’m not much of a music person. In fact, I hardly ever listen to music, and when I do, it’s for the lyrics.

Are people surprised and confused when they find out you write well? 

Not at all. And I’m sure not everyone would think I writ “well”. A lot of people think it’s  interersting that I write for a living though.

Quote something you’ve written. The first thing to pop into your mind. 

I don’t have anything that would just “pop into” my head. I don’t live that close to my text. But I wrote on Odin’s Girl, my WIP, before doing this and something I wrote there:

Version:1.0 StartHTML:0000000168 EndHTML:0000001092 StartFragment:0000000602 EndFragment:0000001075When I get to the lab, Moonie and Hugh are already there, comparing something on a printout to two flickering screens showing two kinds of maps of raging Rock. On those maps, the town is not the snow-covered tundra it is outside, but green in varying hues to indicate elevation on one, red, blue and yellow on the other to show housing zones, industry and commercial. Most of our town is pale green on one side, and domestic green on the other.

Your turn! You know you’ve been looking for an excuse to procrastinate…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

