Skip to content

Short Stories are hard

4. April 2006

I don’t know how people do it, but I find short stories insanely difficult. Or rather, I find the ideas for short stories hard. I have about half a million ideas suitable to chapters, people, novels, series, you name it. But a succinct, poignant short story idea that captures some moment of … something? Nope. Got nothing. Which doesn’t stop me from entering the Romance Writers of New Zealand Short Stories competitions. If you never write outside your comfort zone, you don’t get anywhere, and I’m sort of between books at the moment anyway (meaning I don’t feel like editing much, and it’s slooooooooooow going).

Now, to find that little gem…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 12. August 2010 10:05 am

    I agree. But I love reading short stories. I just starting blogging recently and I like writing short little dumb articles if you can call them that. Any tips for a rookie?

  2. takafofo permalink
    5. October 2010 11:46 am

    Hi. I am a student from Kyoto, Japan.
    I lived in the US for 9 years.(1~9yrsold)
    I am wondering if I may have a chance to send my short story to you.
    I want everyone to read this story.
    I write many stories and I want one of my stories to be read by many people.

    Is it possible?

    If not, please tell me a site that might accept my desire.

    Thank you very much for reading,
    Takafofo.

    please reply to
    takafofous@msn.com

  3. 23. February 2011 7:17 am

    Short stories can be difficult. But my piece of advice is write about something you know a lot about.

  4. 20. April 2011 11:40 pm

    haha as a short story writer i feel your pain. if you get the time take a look at the short stories which caused me endless headaches just to get them ready for publishing: http://realmofthecrow.wordpress.com keep writing no matter the struggle.

  5. 19. June 2011 11:02 am

    1 Idea: instead of trying to come up with plots of short stories, try to come up with plots for novels. Then, take a plot that would fill up a whole book and try to turn it into a short story. This can have an interesting result. When writers tells themselves to cook up plots for short stories, they inevitably think small. Try thinking big.

  6. 5. May 2013 10:12 am

    Its like you read my mind! You seem to know so much about this, like you wrote the book in
    it or something. I think that you could do with some pics to drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that, this is excellent blog.

    An excellent read. I’ll definitely be back.

Leave a comment